The GATE Mentor Teacher of the Year award is given in honor of Robert Knowles, a former president of GATE (1975-1976) and an educator at both the public school and college levels, and recognizes a classroom teacher mentoring pre-service teachers whose teaching and supervision excellence merits special recognition. This award carries a monetary stipend, a year’s membership in GATE, and a plaque.

One nomination letter should emphasize the unique contribution made to pre-service teacher development and/or contribution to the profession and it should also highlight the nominee’s ability to meet the award criteria. Two additional letters of support should be included in the nomination packet. No letters will be returned.

Award Criteria:

  • Must be a classroom teacher in a Georgia public county or city school system or in a private independent or parochial school in Georgia.
  • Must have extensive experience with pre-service teachers from teacher education programs in colleges and universities in the state.
  • Must demonstrate a cooperative attitude in working with college or university personnel (e.g., working closely with college or university faculty, serving on committees, presenting workshops, being a guest lecturer for an education course).
  • Must be prepared for effective supervision. Evidence of preparation may include, but is not limited to, seminars, program orientations, and workshops for the development of supervision skills and Supervising Teacher Service (TSS) certification.
  • Must demonstrate a unique contribution made to pre-service teachers’ development and contributions to the profession (e.g., co-planning and co-teaching, ongoing, constructive feedback).

Application Packet Must Include:

  • Cover page to include nominee’s name, telephone number and e-mail address, name and address of employing school and the name of the principal or superintendent, job title with description of position and explanation of duties, dates of employment; name and contact information of person nominating and his/her position in State Affiliate if applicable
  • One nomination letter highlighting the nominee’s ability to meet the award criteria.
  • Letters of support from supervisors, peers, students, or professional colleagues (no more than two).

Deadline for receipt of nominations: June 15 of each year.

Email all nominations to:

Dr. Don Livingston

LaGrange College
Email: [email protected]


Award Winners:

2023: Not Awarded

2022: Not Awarded

2021: Not Awarded

2020: Not Awarded

2019: Not Awarded

2018:  Jo Smith, Winterville Elementary School, Clarke County

2017:  Ebony Robinson, North Columbus Elementary School, Muscogee County

2016:  Marci McKeever, Turner Woods Elementary School, Jones County

2015:  Cheryl Nicolls, Brooks Elementary School, Coweta County

2014:  Gloria Anderson, Timothy Road Elementary School, Clarke County

2013:  Cheryl Wright, Isle of Hope Elementary School

2012:  Michelle Mark, Dunwoody Springs Elementary School

2011:  Marianne Ayoob, Barnett Shoals Elementary School

2010:  Michelle Whitmire, Holly Springs Elementary School

2009:  Angela Susan Brooks and Elizabeth Royer

2008:  not awarded

2007:  Cindy Butler, Richard Hill Primary School

2006:  Jennifer Okiyama, Dunwoody Springs Charter School

2005:  not awarded