The Distinguished Research in Teacher Education award has been established to recognize and encourage outstanding investigations influencing teacher education and/or student learning. This award carries a plaque. GATE will pay the conference registration and a year of annual membership.

Award Criteria:

  • Person(s) must be involved in research in teacher education at the college/university level, in public or private school systems, or in other educational agencies. The author(s) need not be active members of GATE.
  • Article submitted must be published or accepted for publication in a peer reviewed journal within the last two years.
  • Article submitted must not exceed 12,000 words, not including appendices and references.
  • Scholarship has the potential to improve teacher education and/or student learning.
  • Scholarship exemplifies strong theoretical grounding and methodology and clear writing.

Nomination Packet Format:

  • Cover page with title of article, name of author(s), and contact person with address, phone number and email
  • Copy of the article that does not exceed 12,000 words, not including appendices and references
  • Letter from the editor confirming acceptance for publication (applies to accepted articles only)

Self-nominations are accepted.

Deadline for receipt of nominations: June 15 of each year.

Email all nominations to:

Dr. Don Livingston, President

LaGrange College
Email: [email protected]


Award Winners:

2023: Dr. Virginie Jackson, Kennesaw State University Reimagining Structured Literacy Practices to Honor Student Identities: Culturally Responsive

Phonics Instruction

2022: Dr. Andrea Crenshaw, University of West Georgia.

2021: Not Awarded

2020: Not Awarded

2019: Not Awarded

2018:  not awarded

2017:  not awarded

2016:  Dr. Joyce Many and Dr. Teresa Fisher, Georgia State University. "From PDS classroom teachers to urban teacher educators: Learning from professional development school boundary spanners." School-University Partnerships,7(1), 49-63.

2015:  not awarded

2014:  Dr. Ewa McGrail, Georgia State University, and Dr. J. Patrick McGrail, Jacksonville State University. "Preparing young writers for invoking and addressing today's interactive digital audiences."

2013:  not awarded

2012:  Dr. Shonda Lemons-Smith, Georgia State University.  "Tapping into the Intellectual Capital of Black Children in Mathematics: Examining the Practices of Preservice Elementary Teachers." In J. Leonard and D. Martin (Eds.), The brilliance of Black children in mathematics: Beyond the numbers and toward new discourse, pp. 325-341. Charlotte, NC: Information Age Publishers.


2010:  not awarded

2009:  Dr Robert A. DeVillar and Dr. Binbin Jiang.

2008:  not awarded

2007:  Tak Cheung Chan, Binbin Jiang, and Judy Patterson, Kennesaw State University.

2006:  Susan Swars, Lynn Hart, and Stephanie Smith, Georgia State University , and Marvin Smith, Kennesaw State University. "The Impact of a Developmental Teacher Preparation Program on Elementary Preservice Teachers' Mathematics Beliefs and Knowledge."

2005:  Yali Zhao, Georgia State University. "Social studies teachers’ perspectives of technology integration."