The Distinguished Dissertation in Teacher Education award has been established to encourage, recognize, and promote exemplary doctoral level research which substantially contributes to the improvement of teacher education. Special recognition will also be extended to the professor who directed the dissertation. This award carries a plaque. GATE will pay the conference registration and a year of annual membership.

Award Criteria:

  • Must have completed a doctoral dissertation at an accredited college or university within the past two years.
  • The topic of the dissertation must be directly relatedto teacher education.  The author need not be an active member of GATE.
  • Scholarship has the potential to improve teacher education and/or student learning.
  • Scholarship exemplifies strong theoretical grounding and methodology and clear writing.

Application Packet Must Include:

  • A cover page to include the person making the nomination, the nominee’s name, telephone number and e-mail address, the university awarding the dissertation, and the faculty advisor for the dissertation.
  • A synopsis of the dissertation. This synopsis should not exceed 2,000 words and should be accompanied by a 150-250-word abstract. The author should make every attempt to eliminate all identifiable references to individuals and places that might bias the reviewers.
  • A letter of support from the dissertation advisor

Deadline for receipt of nominations: June 15 of each year.

Email all nominations to:

Dr. Don Livingston

LaGrange College
Email: [email protected]

Award Winners:

2023:  Dr Asia Thomas Uzomba, The Ancestral Legacy and Daughters of Anna Julia Cooper: A Historical Ethnography of Black Women Teachers in the South.

University Awarding Dissertation: Georgia State University, Faculty Advisor: Dr Michelle Zoss, Georgia State University





2018:  Dr. Robert A. Griffin, University of West Georgia. Motivating High School Latina/o English Learners to Engage in Reading: An Exploratory Study.

2017:  Dr. Natasha Ramsey-Jordan, Georgia State University. Examining the Integration and Use of Culturally Responsive Mathematics Pedagogy in Preservice Teachers' Reflections and Practice: Implications for Black Children.

2016:  Dr. Jamie Gabel, University of West Georgia. Induction Program Design As It Relates to School Setting.

2015:  not awarded

2014:  not awarded

2013:  Dr. Ardyth Foster, Armstrong State University.

2012:  not awarded


2010:  Dr. Kelly W. Edenfield.

2009:  Dr. Tonia Durden and Dr. Teresa Fisher.

2008:  Dr. Desha Williams and Dr. Iris Ellis.

2007:  Sylvia Taylor, Emory University; and Cynthia Marie Schafer, Georgia State University.

2006:  not awarded

2005:  Dr. Caitlin McMunn Dooley, Georgia State University, Understanding Teachers learning about culturally relevant pedagogy:  Going beyond transformative agendas; and Dr. Brian O’Neal Culp, Armstrong Atlantic State University, An examination of elementary physical education teachers’ methods of instruction:  A study of an urban public school system.